The 2014 Champions of Catholic Education have been selected!

The St. Thomas Aquinas Award is presented to an individual who has been a major benefactor of Catholic education in Central Washington. The 2014 recipient is Jim McConnell of St. Joseph Parish, Kennewick.

The St. John Baptist De La Salle Award is presented to those who have excelled as educators in our Catholic schools. The 2014 recipients are Fr. Tom Kuykendall of St. Joseph Parish, Wenatchee; Br. Jack Henderson of La Salle High School, Yakima; and Sr. Lucia Hinojosa of St. Joseph School, Wenatchee.

The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award is presented to those who have dedicated their time, talent and treasure to religious education, faith formation and RCIA programs in their parishes. The 2014 recipients are Pat Moore of Holy Spirit Parish, Kennewick; Amalia Del Pozo of St. Joseph Parish, Kennewick; Maria Rosales of Our Lady of the Desert Parish, Mattawa; Lori Wasner of Christ the King Parish, Richland; Elvia Gonzales of St. Mary Parish, White Swan; and Rose Meyer of Holy Family Parish, Yakima.

These awards will be presented at the third annual Celebration of Faith event at the Yakima Convention Center on October 11, 2014.

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Awards


Maria Rosales

Mattawa, WA


Rose Meyer

Yakima, WA


Elvia Gonzalez

White Swan, WA


Lori Wasner

Richland, WA


Amalia Del Pozo

Kennewick, WA


Pat Moore

Kennewick, WA

Saint John Baptist De Le Salle Awards

Saint Thomas Aquinas Award


Sr. Lucia Hinojosa, MDVPM

Wenatchee, WA


Br. Jack Henderson

Yakima, WA


Rev. Tom Kuykendall

Wenatchee, WA


Jim McConnell

Kennewick, WA